Skip to main content

Outstanding Students Named, Inducted into Honors Societies at Honors Convocation 2022

By May 19, 2022Academics

Last month’s Honors Convocation and Honors Society induction ceremonies recognized some of the College’s best and brightest students for their academic achievements. The in-person ceremony recognized 16 students as outstanding in their fields of study and welcomed 8 students into an honors society. 

The following student awards were presented: 

Digital Media Arts 

  • Outstanding student in animation: Rachel Falsone, ‘22 
  • Outstanding student in digital filmmaking: Alberto Pardo, ‘22 
  • Outstanding student in game design: Bryon Pagan-Hernandez, ‘24 

Fine Arts and Design  

  • Outstanding student in fashion design and merchandising: Carise Taylor, ‘22 
  • Outstanding student in fine arts: Maria Falanga, ‘22 
  • Outstanding student in graphic design: Karion Carter, ‘22 
  • Outstanding student in interior design: Alexis Carrington, ‘22 
  • Outstanding student in photography: Alexis Sevrey, ‘23 

Health Sciences 

  • Outstanding student in occupational therapy assistant: Tiffany Lake, ‘22 
  • Outstanding student in physical therapist assistant: Courtney Caputo, ‘22 

Humanities and Social Sciences 

  • Outstanding Student in Digital Media and Communication: 
  • Brittney Beamish, ‘22 
  • Outstanding student in psychology: DennisJanee Brown, ‘22 

Natural Sciences and Professional Studies 

  • Outstanding student in business: Krysta Edwards, ‘22 
  • Outstanding student in computer software development: Joseph Meaney, ‘23 


  • Outstanding student in music industry: Dane Weisbeck, ‘22 

The following students were inducted into Phi Theta Kappa: 

ΦΘΚ is the international honor society of two-year colleges and academic programs. The purpose of PTK shall be to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. To achieve this purpose, Phi Theta Kappa shall provide opportunity for the development and leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence. 

Spring 2022 Inductees 

  • Courtney Caputo, ‘22 
  • Alyssa Rafalko, ‘22 

They join the following current members: 

  • Allison Church, ‘23 PTA 
  • Rachael Goetz, ‘22 PTA 
  • Alisa Hartman, ‘22 PTA 
  • Prodda Murphy, ‘19, BS Business ‘22 
  • Lakeshia Santos, ‘20, BS Business ‘22 
  • Katie Zak, AS ‘20, BS Integrated Arts ‘25 

The following students were inducted into Delta Epsilon Sigma: 

ΔΕΣ is a national scholastic honor society that was established in 1939 for students of Catholic universities and college in the United States. The society was founded at Loras College in Dubuque, Iowa in 1939 by Father Fitzgerald. To be eligible, undergraduate students must have completed at least fifty percent of the credit requirements for their baccalaureate degree and rank no lower than the highest twenty percent of their class in scholarship. Villa Maria College’s chapter is Epsilon Eta. 


  • Alexis I. Carrington, ‘22 
  • Jamika C. Ervin, ‘23 
  • Maria F. Falanga, ‘22 
  • Alyssa M. LaMartina, ‘23 
  • Alexis M. Sevrey, ‘23 
  • Kelsey R. Sikora, ‘23 

They join the following current members: 

  • Sierra Annunziata, ‘22 
  • Krysta Edwards, ‘22 
  • Mary Lonigan, ‘22 
  • Emmalee Lowe, ‘22 
  • Richard Rugg, ‘22 
  • Nicholas Tabak, ‘22 

By viewing the Honors Convocation Program below, you will find all of this academic year’s faculty awardees.