Skip to main content

Graphic Design Students Earn Top Spots at AAF Buffalo’s Portfolio Day & Win Don Nichols for the 10th Consecutive Year

By April 15, 2024April 16th, 2024Graphic Design

Graphic Design Students Win First & Second Place in AAF Buffalo’s Portfolio Review

This Saturday, AAF Buffalo held its annual Portfolio Review in the Commons.

Fifteen graphic design students from Buffalo State, Daemen, Villa, and UB had their work reviewed by 12 local creative professionals from agencies like Crowley Webb, Mower, Mr. Smith and many others in a “speed-dating” style format.

Monetary prizes are awarded to the top two portfolios; both prizes went to graphic design students from Villa Maria.

Senior Henny Zack and sophomore Tanner DeMarco took the top spots, while senior Julia Gibas earned honorable mention. Henny and Tanner are both exceptional designers; both earned gold ADDY Awards at last month’s American Advertising Awards show.

Campaign (Posters Excerpt) • Henny Zack, ’24 • Student Gold Addy 2024

Branding • Tanner DeMarco, ’26 • Student Gold Addy 2024

Freshmen Graphic Design Students Win First & Second Place in AAF Buffalo’s Don Nichols Scholarship Competition

During the event, AAF Buffalo announced the winners of the 2024 Don Nichols Scholarship Competition. This year’s theme was Artificial Intelligence. According to AAF Buffalo’s website, Artificial intelligence has taken the world by storm and the industry of communication and design is not exempt. We’re all scrambling to get a handle on what this will mean for our skills and ultimately our jobs. Yet, the theory that this is merely a new tool in our toolbox seems to be more pervasive and reassuring. But using it correctly is the next challenge.

Students were asked to consider this question: “What’s your take on AI and how it’ll shape our world in the next few years? Bring to life your thoughts and opinions in any medium you choose.”

Freshman William Ankarberg won first place with a red collage piece and freshman Laila Adeyola won second place with the “eye is the gateway” piece.

2024 is the 10th consecutive year in which a student from Villa Maria College has earned the top spot in this scholarship competition.

Poster • William Ankarberg, ;28 • 1st Place AAF Don Nichols Scholarship Competition 2024

“Eye is the Gateway” by Laila Adeyola, ’28

Past winners of the Don Nichols Scholarship Competition include:

1st: Grace Amborski, ‘26
2nd: Andre Smith, ‘26
3rd: Michael Blake, ‘26
Honorable Mention: Olivia Ebers, ‘24
Honorable Mention: Chris Weitz, ‘24

1st: Cameron Cooks, ‘23
2nd: Jon Barber, ‘24
3rd: Julia Gibas, ‘24
Honorable Mention: Kelsey Sikora, ‘23
Honorable Mention: Scott Ranick, ‘24