Skip to main content

Honors Convocation 2023

By May 1, 2023Academics

This year’s Honors Convocation and Honors Society induction ceremonies took place on April 20. During the event, the College recognized 12 students as outstanding in their fields of study and welcomed 2 students into an honors society. 

The following student awards were presented: 

Digital Media Arts 

  • Outstanding student in animation: Timothy Clavier, ‘23 
  • Outstanding student in digital filmmaking: Dante Simonetta, ‘24 
  • Outstanding student in game design: Brandon Edwards, ‘24 

Fine Arts and Design  

  • Outstanding student in fine arts: Katie Zak, ‘25 
  • Outstanding student in graphic design: Kelsey Sikora, ‘23 
  • Outstanding student in interior design: Caitlin Jarosinski, ‘23 
  • Outstanding student in photography: Alyssa LaMartina, ‘23 

Health Sciences 

  • Outstanding student in occupational therapy assistant: Ashleigh Cline, ‘23 
  • Outstanding student in physical therapist assistant: Kiersten Davey, ‘23 

Humanities and Social Sciences 

  • Outstanding Student in Digital Media and Communication: Aneesa Haque-Piccione, ‘23 
  • Outstanding student in psychology: Kirsten Hussey, ‘23 


  • Outstanding student in music industry: Dane Weisbeck, ‘22 

The following students were inducted into Phi Theta Kappa: 

ΦΘΚ is the international honor society of two-year colleges and academic programs. The purpose of PTK shall be to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. To achieve this purpose, Phi Theta Kappa shall provide opportunity for the development and leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence. 

Spring 2023 Inductees 

  • Kiersten Davey, ‘23 
  • Claire Rider, ‘23 

They join the following current members: 

  • Allison Church, ‘23 PTA 
  • Katie Zak, AS ‘20, BS Integrated Arts ‘25 

The following students were inducted into Delta Epsilon Sigma: 

ΔΕΣ is a national scholastic honor society that was established in 1939 for students of Catholic universities and college in the United States. The society was founded at Loras College in Dubuque, Iowa in 1939 by Father Fitzgerald. To be eligible, undergraduate students must have completed at least fifty percent of the credit requirements for their baccalaureate degree and rank no lower than the highest twenty percent of their class in scholarship. Villa Maria College’s chapter is Epsilon Eta. 

Spring 2023 Inductees: 

  • Sophia Cacioppo, ‘24 
  • Caitlin Jarosinski, ‘23 
  • Aurora Mills, ‘23 
  • Kade Streak, ‘23 

They join the following current members: 

  • Maria Falanga, ‘23 
  • Jamika Ervin, ‘23 
  • Alyssa LaMartina, ‘23 
  • Alexis Sevrey, ‘23 
  • Kelsey Sikora, ‘23